Being that I got into this blogging game a little late I have some catching up to do.  In the near future I will post a transcript of the August 29th sermon at SWBTS that got me into this situation in the first place.  For now I will leave you with an email from Todd Pylant, Pastor of First Baptist Church in Benbrook, TX.  With his permission I am going to share both his email and his sermon dealing with a private prayer language.  I hope that they bless you as much as they have blessed me.

~Wm. Dwight McKissic, Sr.

Dwight,

I graduated from SWBTS in 1993, and I affirm, believe in, and practice a so called “private prayer language.”  I only tell you to let you know you are not the only Baptist pastor who does so.  I do not teach my congregation to do so, and I have never practiced it in the pulpit or in any public gathering.  However, I believe the “inerrant Word of God” when it tells us not to forbid the speaking in tongues. 

I am appalled that the seminary that taught me about “sola scripture” and birthed a high view of Scripture within my soul has so quickly discarded certain verses that don’t fit their position.  I am amazed how quickly historic Baptist doctrines (we are not creedal people, local church autonomy, priesthood of the believer, etc) are being shelved one by one.  The proper interpretation of Scripture now rests with the authorities, the very issue that birthed the Reformation. 

Thank you for having the courage to be the only one in the room that voted against the resolution.  Thank you for risking your personal peace simply to speak the Word of God.

In  Christ,

Todd Pylant

Pastor First Baptist Church of Benbrook, TX

sbc-tongues-and-bfm-part-21.doc

